We never knew we loved …

In the August quarterly workshop, we read the poem, ‘Things I Didn’t Know I Loved’ , by Nazim Hikmet.

Reading it led to writing about things we like and love, the small, often unnoticed details about them, and what they help us to remember.  
If you’d like to read Hikmet’s beautiful poem – here’s the link:  

Things I Didn’t Know I Loved 

it’s 1962 March 28th
I’m sitting by the window on the Prague-Berlin train
night is falling
I never knew I liked
night descending like a tired bird on a smoky wet plain
I don’t like
comparing nightfall to a tired bird

(to read more, click on the lines above)

By monthliesblog Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

