Penny White

I didn’t know I loved strangers until I found myself awash with commuting crowds at Victoria Station and I on my suitcase. Or when I stepped on an aeroplane and flew amongst them to strange new lands.
I didn’t know I loved dew till today while watching it sparkle and move on grass blades being dried by the early sun. Can drops object to being evaporated?
I found I loved dew when my shoes squelch it up and my socks absorb it to wet my toes.
I didn’t know I loved dew until the blade on the rear window wiped it away to show the road I had travelled. Reversing out to go forward.
I didn’t know I loved geese, standing on chimneys, calling a warning, letting dog and I know we were seen. Their chest marks proudly pushed out and white flashes below wings as they land.
Mountains I loved on the Swartberg Pass
The ranges stretched on both hands
Away to touch the washed blue sky
I touched the tops
Glory to God rang out.

Leave a Reply

