Maire Fisher

Pause

I

running through
tangled roads
thunder stones
in my mouth
flashing back
like stars bursting

I pause

coming through fear
into music
listening
to the space
around
the still lake
a quiet word
moves my heart

II

Running down the tangled roads
words thunder in my heart
I pause,
quiet,
and angels move,
flashing through the storm
like stars bursting.

I move through fear
into listening,
my centre a quiet lake.
And in the space around my heart
one word – home –
beams brightest of all.

Leave a Reply

