Janine Goullée

The Unexpected

I’m standing at the edge of the abyss
the air whispers past

Cool tendrils lick my face
my cheeks and limbs

My imagination conjures fears
worse than reality could ever be

Loss – of choice, will and delight
being trapped, enslaved

I’m standing at the edge of the abyss
and fear itself is a loss of freedom

The unexpected frightens me
at every turn, too many possibilities

I try to move, to step back
all is mist, a blur as

standing at the edge of the abyss
I plunge over, let go

and confront the unexpected
by not plummeting

All words pulled from my grasp
I lie suspended –

continue in slow motion
Wings surround me

Kindred souls await my discovery
and touch me, gently

All is clear and bright
washed clean by the rains

Leave a Reply

