Three writing competitions to diarise

BTA/Anglo Platinum Short Story Competition 2008
We encourage you to start writing an exciting, gripping and original fictional story of between 4500 and 5000 words in English, typed or handwritten. This competition does not disqualify writers for imperfect grammar or spelling, as long as the story is interesting.
Please send your entry to the BTA/Anglo Platinum Short Story Competition 2008,PO Box 66240, Broadway, 2020, Johannesburg
Competition Rules:
1. Prize money will be distributed as follows: the winner will receive R25 000; first runner-up R15 000; second runner-up R12 000; third runner-up R8 000 and fourth runner-up R5 000
2. Platinum jewellery will be awarded at the judges’ discretion.
3. The competition is open to all residents of Southern Africa.
4. Stories must be in English, original and not previously published.
5. Stories must be between 4500 to 5000 words.
6. Stories must reach us by JUNE 30 2008.
7. Please note that stories will not be returned.
8. We reserve the right not to consider essays, plays, and scripts.
9. The author will be informed should any story be published or used in the Million Books Campaign or any other reading initiative. Payment for this is not guaranteed.
10. The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
11. The list of winners will be published by all papers in which this advert appears, between 09-14 September 2008.
12. For all enquiries call 011 888 3104.
For more information email:
See the website for full details

The Nova Short Story Competition for 2008
Is now open for entries. Please download the Competition Rules and Entry Form, read through them, and follow the instructions. Good luck. Hope you enter before our closing date of 30 September 2008.
The Nova Short Story Competition is our annual competition for budding writers of science fiction and fantasy short stories. Usually contested in two categories, General and South African, the competition is open for entry from April until 30 September annually. Winning entries and finalists are published in Probe.
Please note that the South African section of the competition has the more valuable prize money. This is to encourage more people to write SA SF stories. It is also more difficult than writing a generic SF story. Please download, read and take seriously the above writing guide. All information online at

New SA PEN literary award

The South African Centre of International PEN (SA PEN) is pleased to announce a new literary award in Africa to replace the HSBC / SA PEN Literary Award.

The new award for original short stories in English will be known as the PEN / STUDZINSKI Literary Award. John Studzinski, a global investment banker and philanthropist, has generously donated the prize money.

Nobel Laureate John Coetzee has agreed to be the final judge for the new award.

Award-winning author and SA PEN executive committee member, Shaun Johnson, has assumed leadership responsibility for the award. With Shaun’s guidance, the project will build on the momentum of the previous awards sponsored by HSBC Bank plc in 2005, 2006 and 2007.

Johnson said he had agreed enthusiastically when asked to take on the task: Having experienced myself how helpful and encouraging it is to a writer to have one’s work recognised in the form of literary awards, I’m delighted to be able to play a part in assisting other authors.

In a sponsorship arrangement which makes the PEN / STUDZINSKI award one of the more financially rewarding literary competitions in Africa, the first, second and third prizes respectively will be £5 000, £3 000 and £2 000.

The award aims to encourage new creative writing in Africa and will offer talented writers an exciting opportunity to launch or develop a literary career.

The selected contributions of 86 writers to the earlier HSBC / SA PEN Literary Awards were published in a series of books of new creative writing, entitled AFRICAN COMPASS, AFRICAN ROAD and AFRICAN PENS. First prize winners of the HSBC / SA PEN Awards were Elizabeth Pienaar (2005), Sean O’ Toole (2006) and Henrietta Rose-Innes (2007).

International PEN, the literary organisation with which SA PEN is affiliated, was founded in 1921 to advance the cause of literature and defend free expression. International PEN has 145 centres throughout the world and has undertaken to publicise winning contributions to the PEN / STUDZINSKI award in its global journal, PEN International.

Writers who are citizens of African countries are encouraged to begin preparing short stories for submission. There is no age limit. Further information and detailed rules of entry will be posted on the SA PEN website,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s