Patricia Schonstein – a seminar at the Kalk Bay Theatre

Dear Monthlies

You might remember that I promised to organise 2 or 3 seminars this year – to support the focus on writing story – where established authors talk to us from their own experience about aspects of writing narrative.

I’m delighted to announce that I have invited PATRICIA SCHONSTEIN to be our first guest. If you haven’t booked, but would like to attend, there is space.

Time: TUESDAY 13 MAY – 9.30am to 12.30pm.

Venue: The KALK BAY THEATRE.

Cost: R40

It would help if I didn’t have to collect payment on the day of the seminar, so if you could bring the R40 to the Monthly workshop next week, that would be great.

What Patricia is planning to cover:

I will go through what you have covered already, and share my way of dealing with these points

· How do you start a story
· Choosing point of view
· Narrative voice
· Plot and structure
· The core of the work

“I would examine each of my four published novels in relation to the above. Skyline, A Time of Angels, The Apothecary’s Daughter and A Quilt of Dreams. It would be beneficial for people to have read them.

“If there is time and people want to hear, I can discuss my new manuscript, The Master’s Ruse, which I have cast as a master-class in the creation of fiction.

*** please let me know asap whether you will be attending.

Payment of the R40 can be made at the May monthly workshop.

Leave a Reply

