2008-9 Commonwealth Short Story Competition

2008-9 Commonwealth Short Story Competition

The CBA is inviting entries for the 2008-9 Commonwealth Short Story Competition. The competition is open to all Commonwealth citizens. There is no entry form but all entrants should carefully follow the instructions with regards to entering.

Closing Date: 1 May, 2008

1st Prize: £2,000

Entries are now invited for the 2008-9 Commonwealth Short Story Competition. There is no entry fee or form. Only the winners will be notified and entries will not be acknowledged or returned. The deadline for receipt of entries is 1 May, 2008.


The Commonwealth Short Story Competition aims to increase understanding and appreciation of and between Commonwealth cultures, to showcase the rich diversity of the Commonwealth and to support rising literary talents.


The objectives of the competition are as follows:

• To recognise new writers and give them increased confidence to pursue writing as a career.
• To make more widely known the work of rising literary talents.
• To encourage people to write about their lives, their societies and the things that matter to them.
• To highlight a diversity of cultures, voices and viewpoints through radio broadcast.

Rules and Regulations

All Commonwealth citizens are eligible to participate in the competition. There is no age limit and entries can come from either amateur or professional writers.

• All entries must clearly state the country of citizenship and residence.
• The stories may have any theme or subject, but should not exceed 600 words (which should be 4’30” when read aloud).
• The stories must be original and should not have been previously published anywhere in full or part. Entrants should confirm this in writing.
• All entries must be in English.
• Maximum of three entries per person.
• Entries should be type-written or word processed on A4 paper, double spaced, and include the word count.
• Handwritten entries will not be accepted.
• Each entry must include the name, address, telephone number, and email address of the writer.
• Entries will not be returned or acknowledged.
• Winners will retain the copyright but assign the broadcasting rights (including audio on demand) for ten years to the Commonwealth Broadcasting Association to pass on to its members. Winners will also assign publication rights for ten years to the CBA and the Commonwealth Foundation, and the rights for the story to be sold on any audio medium by the CBA. Both these rights are non-exclusive. The winners will also assign rights to the CBA to use the story for press and promotion and for using on the website.
• The administrators of the competition reserve the right to disqualify any competition entry. No correspondence will be entered into in this regard.
• Only winners will be notified. The names of the winners will be published in “Commonwealth Broadcaster”, the CBA website http://www.cba.org.uk and in the press and broadcast media of Commonwealth countries.
• Entries must be sent by post or courier to Commonwealth Broadcasting Association, 17 Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1AA, UK or emailed to story@cba.org.uk
• ‘Short Story Competition’ should be clearly written on the envelope, and on the subject line on emails.

The competition is administered by the Commonwealth Broadcasting Association and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation as part of its Culture and Diversity Programme.

How to enter

All entries for the 2008 competition should be sent to:

Commonwealth Short Story Competition
Commonwealth Broadcasting Association
17 Fleet Street
London EC4Y 1AA

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7583 5550
Website: http://www.cba.org.uk

Please mention “Short Story Competition” on the envelope. You can also email story@cba.org.uk Please either send by post/courier or by email. DO NOT SEND A STORY BOTH BY POST AND EMAIL.


13 comments on “2008-9 Commonwealth Short Story Competition

  1. Hi Susan

    No, that’s the length they ask for – flash fiction length – they’re looking for something that can be read over the radio – and that lasts 4-5 mins.

    Kind regards


  2. I understand that all the prizes are being given only to women. is there atleast one male winner till date since the award was concieved? I am talking about the overall or regional winners…

  3. There definitely have been male winners …

    Last year :

    Australia and Pacific
    Zuka’s Gift by David Campbell
    Heaven by Robert Carter
    Do Not Disturb by Bruce Riddell

    Canada and Caribbean
    Scissors by Darryl Berger
    Melnyk Comes Home by Stewart Boston

    And I’m sure many others in previous years.

  4. Ya, thats true. But what I’m talking is about the Overall winners and the regional winners. Not the highly commended category.
    There has been not a single male winner and i find it discouraging to apply to this competition, with due regards to the CBA and the commonwealth foundation although. Not even a single name thats male…

  5. Hello again qwertyguy

    I’ve emailed the powers that be asking them your question – and asked them to answer you here – if there is no reply, and you’d like to pursue this further, I suggest that yoi8 go the the website and email your question to them.

    Good luck

  6. Thank you very much for understanding my genuine concern regarding what has been happening for years in such an international stage.
    Would be waiting, for their reply..for some time..
    if not will go about your suggestion mailing them. Still i would inform you again later on, before mailing them though.


  7. When are this year’s competition deadline(s)? i keep seeing last years deadlines. are there no competitions this year i.e. 2009?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s