BBC National Short Story Award

The short story form is better suited to the demands of modern life than the novel. ~ Simon Prosser, Publishing Director, Hamish Hamilton

Whether or not you agree with the above quote, it’s a great way to introduce the BBC National Short Story Award – the largest award for a single short story in the world. £15,000 for the winning story, £3,000 for the runner-up and £500 for the three other shortlisted stories.
A definite must to work towards for 2009 – entries open at the end of this year. To read more – visit the BBC short story award site by clicking here

3 comments on “BBC National Short Story Award

  1. I love that the BBC offers this award. Even though I looked at the BBC link throughout the year, I couldn’t find the deadline for 2008 – so, I missed it. Is there a secret password or even a pair of 3D glasses to help me find the details and deadlines for 2009? 🙂

  2. I cannot find any information about the BBC Short Story award 2009, nor an
    entry form.
    Please let me know how/where I can download the form and let me know please when the deadline is.

    Best wishes,
    Rivkie Fried

  3. I can’t see any deadline for 2009 either. Could you kindly assist me on this matter please?

    Thank you.

    Zeynep Ocal B.

Leave a Reply

