Jean Badenhorst

before

before you were born
I stepped in behind your spine
I pulled on your skin
lost the colour of my eyes
in the drumming of your heart

I inhaled your sorrows
tasted your scattered longings
and the salted blood 
from a cut across your palm
I knew before you were born

vreemdeling

voor jy gebore is
kruip ek agter jou rugraat in
ek trek jou vel aan
en in jou hartklop verloor ek
die kleur van my oe

jou heimwee le in my mond
ek proe jou hunkering
en jou bloed wat suis
soos seelug in my are
voordat jy gebore is

Leave a Reply

