Lynn McGregor

A frozen crust,
mute and murky
Golden words swim below
in silent grace

Shaida Ali

Golden Words 

He smiled at her
and a shaft of ice hit my stomach.
Self doubt poisoning my spirit
he told me how pretty she was
myself a fat shape of lumps.
At home he hugged me wanting to make love
lost in myself I could not respond.
A frozen crust

lost in myself I could not respond.
I slip, sucked in
how did I get here, this familiar hellhole?
sliding into bogs of misery
darknesses of memory
why do I feel punished?
Stuck in mind-mud
mute and murky

Can’t breathe.
Then he reaches and holds me
cradles me with huge hands.
I love you. I love you
Light dapples on white walls.
Sacred moments.
I love you. I love you.
Golden words swim below

Golden words swim below
fish eagles circle above
leaping over carefree rocks
red and ochre warmth
Soon be there. Then the view.
Mountains after mountains purple
tumbling into fresh bubbling water
Together we lie, him and me
in silent grace

Leave a Reply

