Gill Faris

The whirlpool drags you helpless down
Strange shapes appear
Howling, jabbering creatures and voices of madness
It is hard, bitter hard
by Artemesia

The sight of you so real
The moment I knew
I wanted to murder you
No one would ever know,
or imagine who it could be.
Who really died?
Was it you or was it me?
The whirlpool drags you helpless down

Lost, abandoned to myself
your screaming, chaotic mad self
Violent in the silence of your anger and shame
How I hated you!
You stole the tenderness of my being
Limp, lame
yet
power-filled,
the silence screamed with the images of you
Strange shapes appear

A little spot I found for myself under the leaf of a cycad
Lying comfy on the earth, warm and holding
my breathing slow ‘till it became a soft gentle whistle
Far away, transported to a care-free world
My awake-sleep state cushioned by the
gentleness of the underworld
I could never have imagined it, until
a dew drop landed on my face, startled
I awakened
the howling, jabbering creatures and voices of madness

She stood on the edge
It was always a tug of war
How many more times did she need to do this?
‘Do it’ the voice nagged…
those words loud in her head
ears bursting
eyes bulging
Then…it happened,
she jumped
It is hard, bitter hard, before you jump into the place of freedom of putting pen to paper
It is hard, bitter hard

By monthliesblog Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

