Gill Eastwood

Sly ways of breaking the skin
breaking the water in the womb for the words to come out
refreshing, but not very clean
miraculous – from nothing to something so powerful. 
Jaine Hannath

Birthing the words

Old emotions – long dormant – are stirring
shadowy journeys into as yet untested waters
bring to the surface ancient hurts
both perpetuated and received
sly ways of breaking the skin

I have carried my hopes and aspirations
like a baby in the womb
I am alone with this love child and burden
the containment is over and I prepare for release
breaking the water in the womb for the words to come out

Flinging itself into my mind
writing inspired energy
like a counselling session
uncovering sticky self-help
refreshing, but not clean

I choose to sink into the maelstrom of my discontent
prodding and poking
infringing on personal space
reconnecting with myself, like this poem:
miraculous – from nothing to something so powerful.

Leave a Reply

