Barbara Chase

Barely disturbing the watery skin
a well into which I can sink
undiluted by fear
dragging emotions in the undertow.
by Janet Jadrijewich

 

Writing below the surface – a Glosa

Below the surface
fishes swim
eggs are laid
snails move
plants are growing
branches sway.
On the surface
a leaf falls,
barely disturbing the watery skin.

I watch the water,
long to be there
immerse myself.
The sun on the water
glistens, shines, blinds me,
sends my desire
back to me.
I long to break the surface
and find
a well into which I can sink.

I could jump in,
but fear the unknown there,
the murky dark
the moving things
the active lives I do not know.
I must go in
and know this place,
encounter what is hidden now
undiluted by fear.

I’m under now
and feel the turmoil here.
But I feel strong.
The freedom grows.
I go in deeper,
further in.
Excited now I take control.
The moving water surges round,
dragging emotions in the undertow.

Leave a Reply

