Jean Badenhorst

this risky country

this risky country
babel surrounds me
three moons align above me
dogs howl, the sirocco blows
bells chime around my ankles
my head is shaved, my eyelids brushed with cloves
winds carry me on hot, white dust

to a snowbound forest, a frozen river
a city, iced and pale
scattered with speechless shades
I walk the silent streets
searching, belonging nowhere
day to night to day

somewhere in this labyrinth
treasure lies hidden

***

treasure lies hidden
somewhere in this labyrinth

day to night to day
searching, belonging nowhere
I walk the silent streets
scattered with speechless shades
a city, iced and pale
to a snowbound forest, a frozen river

winds carry me on hot, white dust
my head is shaved, my eyelids brushed with cloves
bells chime around my ankles
dogs howl, the sirocco blows
three moons align above me
babel surrounds me
this risky country

 

 

Leave a Reply

